Efficiency, hydropower bills advance to Senate floor

Office of Sen. Rob Portman

Energy efficiency and hydropower legislation advanced Wednesday to the Senate floor from the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, but not before conservatives registered their concern about new federal spending.

The Energy Savings and Industrial Competitiveness Act by Sen. Jeanne Shaheen, D-N.H., and Sen. Rob Portman, R-Ohio, was approved on a 19-3 voice vote, with Sens. Jeff Flake, R-Ariz., Mike Lee, R-Utah, and Tim Scott, R-S.C. voting against.

EnergyGuardian is a subscription energy news service. Sign up below to apply for a free 14-day trial. If approved, you will receive an email from us to activate your account and enable access to this Web site and delivery of our enhanced morning, afternoon and breaking news alert emails.

If you have questions, please email sales@packardmedia.com.

To start your free 14-day trial, fill in the form below.